Police Merit Board


  • 2nd Monday of every month @ 7pm
  • Portage City Hall
    60700 Central Avenue
    Portage, IN, 46368

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Brendan Clancy, Police Department Appointment
  • Diane Highlands, Police Department Appointment
  • Steven Mann, Mayoral Appointment
  • Charles Mason, City Council Appointment
  • Deb Podgorski, City Council Liaison Member
  • Jeanette Allen-Vuko, Mayoral Appointment


The Police Merit Board oversees the selection and appointment of persons to be employed as members of the Police Department subject to applicable statutes. Also, oversees the promotion and demotion of members of the department as well as disciplinary action or dismissal of members of this department.


  • 4-year term, 5 members:
    • 2 appointed by Mayor (1 from each political party)
    • 2 appointed by Police Department (1 from each political party)
    • 1 appointed by Council