Park Board


  • 3rd Monday of every month, 5:30pm
  • Woodland Park
    2100 Willowcreek Road
    Portage, IN 46368

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


  • Paul Ciesielski (R)
  • Gina Giese-Hurst, City Council Liaison Member
  • Deb Ekdahl (D)
  • Debbie Lee (R)
  • Andy Maletta, School Board
  • Carla Warchus (D)
  • Adam Mindel, Legal Counsel


The Parks and Recreation Department shall be governed by a Parks and Recreation Board, which shall consist of four members to be appointed by the mayor. No more than two of such appointees shall be of the same political party. In addition, there shall be appointed one ex-officio member to such board, to be selected from the membership of the school board, by the school board. This board shall be known as the "Portage Parks and Recreation Board."

Composition & Terms

The Parks and Recreation Board members shall serve for four-year staggered terms. All terms shall expire on the first Monday in January, but an appointee shall continue in office until his successor is appointed. The term of an ex-officio member shall be co-extensive with the term of his office unless the school board at its first regular meeting of the year shall appoint another to serve as its representative.


The parks and recreation board shall have all powers, privileges, and duties as provided by state law.


The parks and recreation board members shall be compensated at the rate determined by the common council, not to exceed the limits set forth in IC 36-10-3-9.